Project Elephant


Project Elephant was launched by the Government of India Ministry of Environment and Forests in February, 1992.

Objectives of Project Elephant

  1. To Restore existing natural habitats and migratory routes of elephants ecologically.
  2. To protect their habitat and corridors
  3. to address issues of man-elephant conflict
  4. Developing of scientific methods for conservation of elephant habitats and viable population of Wild Asiatic elephants in India and ensuring their continuance through planned management.
  5. Promoting measures for mitigating man-elephant conflict in crucial habitats and as far as possible negating the undue pressures of human and domestic stock activities in crucial elephant habitats
  6. Ensuring strictest adherence to “No poaching” acts formulated for Wild elephants and minimizing cases of unnatural deaths of elephants due to human or other interference.
  7. Research on Elephant management related issues.
  8. Conducting Public education and awareness programmes.
  9. Providing for veterinary care of the wild elephants.
  10. Undertaking Eco-development as a major step to fortify their efforts at wildlife conservation.
Elephant reserves under Project Elephant in India
S.No. Reserve Name Range Estd. State
1 Mayurjharna East-Central 2002 West Bengal
2 Singhbhum East-Central 2001 Jharkhand
3 Mayurbhanj East-Central 2001 Orissa
5 Sambalpur East-Central 2002 Orissa
6 Baitarni East-Central Orissa
7 South Orissa East-Central Orissa
8 Lemru East-Central Chhattisgarh
9 Badalkhol-Tamorpingla East-Central Chhattisgarh
10 Kameng Kameng-Sonitpur 2002 Arunachal Pradesh
11 Sonitpur Kameng-Sonitpur 2003 Assam
12 Dihing-Patkai Eastern-South 2003 Assam
13 South Arunachal Eastern-South Arunachal Pradesh
14 Kaziranga-Karbi Anglong Kaziranga 2003 Assam
15 Dhansiri-Lungding Kaziranga 2003 Assam
16 Intanki Kaziranga 2005 Nagaland
17 Chirang-Ripu North Bengal-Greater Manas 2003 Assam
18 Eastern Dooars North Bengal-Greater Manas 2002 West Bengal
19 Garo Hills Meghalaya 2001 Meghalaya
20 Khasi Hills Meghalaya Meghalaya
21 Mysore Brahmagiri-Nilgiri-Eastern Ghats 2002 Karnataka
22 Wayanad Brahmagiri-Nilgiri-Eastern Ghats 2002 Kerala
23 Nilgiri Brahmagiri-Nilgiri-Eastern Ghats 2003 Tamil Nadu
24 Rayala Brahmagiri-Nilgiri-Eastern Ghats 2003 Andhra Pradesh
25 Nilambur Brahmagiri-Nilgiri-Eastern Ghats 2002 Kerala
26 Coimbatore Brahmagiri-Nilgiri-Eastern Ghats 2003 Tamil Nadu
27 Anamalai Anamalai-Nelliampathy-High Range 2003 Tamil Nadu
28 Anamudi Anamalai-Nelliampathy-High Range 2002 Kerala
29 Periyar Periyar-Agasthyamalai 2002 Kerala
30 Srivilliputtur Periyar-Agasthyamalai 2003 Tamil Nadu
31 Shivalik North-Western 2003 Uttarakhand
32 Uttar Pradesh North-Western 2009 Uttar Pradesh


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here